Data recorded from Measurement Jobs can be compared against user-defined conditions as it is recorded. These conditions in Netsight are called Alerts. A user is notified by email when an Alert condition they have specified is met.
Multiple alert conditions are allowed per Measurement Job. Alert conditions take one of the following two forms:
If an Alert condition is met, an email is sent to the address specified when the Alert was configured. Alerts are only e-mailed once per day, unless reset by a user. If the Alert condition stops being met, an email is also sent to say so if the Alert has been acknowledged by the User. For more information about resetting, acknowledging and other Alert operations, see the Alert Management help pages.
Alert e-mails can either be sent instantly or batched up into a single e-mail that the user will receive once per day. The Alert delivery system is specified when the Alert is created. Also, an alert condition may optionally have an associated upstream Alert. If both the upstream alert condition and the alert condition itself are simultaneously met, only an alert for the upstream condition will be sent.
To view the details of an existing Alert you can choose "Home" from the Menu Bar and then "Alerts" from the Side Menu, or navigate to it using the Netsight Explorer, or search for it using the Search page. Click the appropriate Alert to show the View Alert Details page. This page shows the details of the Alert, including:
To create edit, and delete Alerts, write access must be enabled on the system. You must also have been granted the appropriate permissions to carry out the operation.
When write access is enabled, you can access the Create Alert page in two ways. One way is to locate the Alerts section in a folder in the Netsight Explorer and click on the "New" link. The other way is to select "Home" from the Menu Bar, then "Alerts" from the Side Menu, then click "New..." next to the page title. In either case, this leads you to the Create a New Alert page.
To edit an existing Alert you need to access the Alert's details with write access enabled. The page can be reached by navigating to the appropriate Alert, using either the Manage alerts page in Home or, the Netsight Explorer. To Edit:
Alerts can be deleted from the View Alert page when write access is enabled.