A Folder is a method of grouping together a number of Netsight objects (Nodes, Users etc).They are very similar to the common directory found in most computer filesystems. A folder can contain other folders (subfolders) as well as special Netsight objects. The top-level folder in Netsight is always the JANET(UK) folder, and all other folders and objects are ultimately contained within this "root" folder.
To create, edit and delete folders, write access must be enabled. You must also have the appropriate permissions to carry out the create folder operation.
New Folders are created from the Netsight Explorer. When write access is enabled, click the "New" link in the "Folders" section of the Folder in which you want to create the new Folder. The Create a New Folder page is displayed.
When you delete a folder in Netsight, the contents are also deleted. This includes any Nodes, Measurement Jobs and Reporting Paths in the Folder, as well as any subfolders and their contents.
Deleting a folder works as an "all-or-nothing" operation. If the deletion of any of the contents fails for some reason, the entire operation is rolled back and nothing is deleted. Delete of a Folder will fail if you do not have permission to delete any of the Folder's contents even if you have permission to delete the Folder itself. It will also fail if an object in the Folder is referenced by one not in the folder (for example, if the folder to be deleted contains a Node that is targeted by a Measurement job in the parent folder).
Folders are a bit different to other objects because their details do not have physical meaning outside Netsight. There is therefore no dedicated View Folder Details page. Instead, folders are used for navigating inside the Netsight system. For more information on using folders for navigation, see the Netsight Explorer help page.